Voices of Fairy Meadow- MEDA101

When first approaching the task of creating an audio-snapshot of a single location in Fairy Meadow, I thought that a conceptual idea would have to be chosen before recordings were made. However, after having made numerous recordings and having experimented with those recordings, I realized that I needed a different approach. After discussing in depth during a tutorial about the various  temporal techniques in selected audio pieces by sound artists such as Michael Snow, I managed to identify a recurring sound within a few of the recordings I had made: background conversations. This led me to decide that my next sound recordings would focus more on the various conversations that occur in Fairy Meadow. However, having been particularly interested in the surreal atmosphere in Michael Snow’s piece “Wavelength”, I decided to manipulate all of the sounds I captured to create an atmospheric and unsettling audioscape of conversations. This also came from my feeling of hearing numerous voices speaking and not knowing what the conversations were about. I think there is something quite unsettling behind that idea. So that was what I attempted to create in my 1-minute audioscape.

Audioscape link: https://soundcloud.com/max-clement-214629312/voices-of-fairy-meadow-meda101

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

